Why I Matter In Agriculture

Today is Election Day in Canada. If you have not yet voted, please do so! It is your right as a Canadian citizen to vote. Exercise your right and have a voice in how your country is run.

Though some days it may not seem like it, I make a difference in the agricultural world. Even when I’m sitting in a classroom, learning about economics that have seemingly nothing to do with agriculture, I am making a difference. From behind my computer screen I have a voice!

Voting in this, election is extremely important. This is the first federal election that I’ve been able to vote in, and that privilege came with a huge sense of responsibility. I believe that every vote matters, including mine. This election, I voted for my future. I voted for education, for the environment, and for agriculture.

Surrounded by the ag community, I have learned a lot in the last few years. Of all the things that I’ve learned, I think the most important one is that having a voice – and using it – is vital in order to see change. There is no way that I would be able to break into the agricultural world without the women before me who have paved the way. They stood up for themselves and created a world where others can thrive. I now get to be a part of that world, and have a say in shaping its future.

Every person in the ag world matters. They are who will determine the future of ag, no matter where they are right now. If they’re out in the field, behind a desk, or sitting in a classroom like me, they are making a difference. Just by being a part of the industry, they have an impact. That includes my voice.

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

Leave A Reply

