I Believe In Zero Food Waste

I love food. Plain and simple, I love it. Over the past few years I’ve really come to appreciate how much energy goes into my food and how precious it is. I always eat all the food that lands on my plate, and I make sure none of my food goes to waste. I try to encourage the others around me to lessen their personal food waste as well, but the issue of food waste goes beyond what’s on our plates. Unimaginable amounts of food is wasted before it even gets to the table. Along the way, perfectly good food is thrown out at inspection stations, processing plants, and even grocery stores.

I’ve been thinking about food waste for a long time and I still can’t wrap my head around the idea that so much of our food is lost before we even have a chance to see it. I want you to watch the video I’ve posted below. It’s long (17 minutes), but it’s worth watching. John Oliver does an excellent job of highlighting food waste in the USA – with a humour that I don’t have. And yes, the video is focused on America, but the concepts translate to north of the border.

I hope you’ll think twice about throwing out your leftovers at your next meal. There may not be much we can do about food waste before it gets to us, but we can still prevent more food from being thrown out.

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

Leave A Reply

