Blame It All On My Roots…

I have to keep this post short and sweet because I have a HUGE exam waiting for me tomorrow, and I’ve spent way too much time not studying for it. 

One of the most amazing things I see on the internet (well, concerning ag, that is) is how prevalent family farming is. A lot of the personal Twitter accounts I see regularly post photos of the little ones helping out with the chores. Especially during calving/lambing/birthday and now that planting season is coming up, I see tons of photos and posts about the entire family helping out around the farm. So awesome!

During farm shows across the country, Ag More Than Ever sets up their photobooth with speech bubbles. One of my favorite ones to see is “I’m a ___ generation farmer.” How far back does that farm go? I’ve seen 6th and 7th generation farmers – that is so incredible! I can’t even imagine having something in your family for that many years… My family can’t keep anything working for more than 15 years, let alone 150!

If you’ve got farming in your family, make sure you do not take it for granted. There’s a lot of history in your family farm, and each new day is another bit of history added on. Even if you don’t go back to work on the farm, take note of where that farm has gotten your family. That history has brought you to where you are today, and you have nowhere to go but forwards. Cherish it!

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

PS. I can’t use a title like that and not include a singalong, can I? Of course not! Enjoy!

Ed.: Since originally writing this post, I’ve learned that my grandfather on my mother’s side was a potato farmer for a short time! When he lived in Poland before World War II, he worked as a labourer on his neighbor’s potato farm to make enough money to come to Canada. I guess I have farming in my blood after all!

Leave A Reply

