Today, I Am Thankful

This past Sunday, I looked out the window and saw my dad doing yard work. No different than any other Sunday, really, except that this time he was wearing an old Aggies jacket that my family has for such occasions. My mom and I found it in the bargain bin of the campus bookstore when visiting Guelph for a tour when I was in high school. It’s a triple-XL, and so is designated for times when we need an extra layer that we don’t mind getting dirty. When I saw my dad wearing the jacket, though, I suddenly realized just how lucky I am.

My parents still don’t totally understand why I started studying agriculture. On days like today, where I’ve spent 6 hours staring at my computer screen trying to learn statistics and accounting, I struggle to remember myself. The path to the end goal hasn’t always been clear, but my parents have wholeheartedly supported me the whole way. When it’s 11:00 at night and I run into their room for help on an accounting assignment, they are willing to help out. When all I can talk about is a new study on some kind of crop that I read about at school, they listen attentively. Even when I come home from a school event and my clothes are covered in muck (cough, cough, Pig Roast), they smile as I get dirt all over the laundry room.

Most of my classmates come from farms, and their parents are farmers and involved with agriculture. I know that they’re supported in pursuing agriculture whenever they’re at home, because it’s a part of their lifestyle. Agriculture is foreign to anyone in my family – I can’t find a single relative within 4 generations that even stepped foot on a farm. It seems that, in spite of this, my parents are incredibly supportive. They know nothing about farming and the Aggie lifestyle, yet they’re behind me every step of the way. And for that, I’m incredibly thankful.

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

4 thoughts on “Today, I Am Thankful

  1. I can relate to your journey! I am a generation off the farm but fell in love with agriculture in college. I am currently living my dream as a grain merchandiser and working on starting a small farm on the side. I am also very involved with Farm Bureau and look for every chance I can to Agvocate! Good luck as you continue to pursue Ag!

Leave A Reply

