Beat The Buzz – Part 1

Recently, I’ve become more aware of buzzwords in the media and in my grocery store. Words like “organic”, “fair trade”, “gluten-free”, “non-GMO”, and tons of other buzzwords that are meant to attract the unknowing consumer and convince them to buy a product. As I’ve become more conscious of these buzzwords, I’ve started to realize how meaningless some of them are. I see people falling for these catchphrases all the time, and I question how much they actually know about the product they’re purchasing.

I’d like to believe that these labels are to inform the consumer about what the products they’re buying and the food they’re eating, but it seems that they’re really just being used as a trap – words to lure in the consumer and convince them to spend more money on a product with labels they don’t really understand. Take the time to understand your food and how it’s labelled!

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be examining some common buzzwords that I see all the time. Each week, I’ll break down a word and look into it, attempting to learn what it really means and how it impacts my food choices. It’s important to know where my food comes from and how it’s processed. Part of this includes knowing what the labels on products mean, and how they affect the producer as well as the consumer.

Stay tuned!

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

One thought on “Beat The Buzz – Part 1

Leave A Reply

