#LearnFromKids

If you accessed this post from Twitter or Facebook, you don’t need to read any further (but do, because that’s what blogs are for). What I’m trying to say here is that the young people on the internet, let’s say the 28 and under demographic, are already doing what they do best – be on the internet. Why is this not being recognized in the professional world?

Last week, I stumbled upon #hesm14 on Twitter. It was the hashtag being used for the Higher Ed Social Media Conference, presented by Higher Ed Experts. I followed the hashtag throughout the day (effectively putting off studying for exams) and found myself caught in a strange situation. The conference was about using social media effectively to capture your audience and promote yourself, but I was seeing talks from speakers that were twice my age. Now, I’m not saying that people over the age of 30 don’t know how to use to internet, but why are people this age teaching younger people how to tweet, post Instagram photos, and use SnapChat for all its worth? If you’ve ever followed someone in university or high school on one of these social media platforms, you know that they do it best – let’s learn from them.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. Young people on the internet results in a lot of useless posts, and how can a teenager’s tweet help me with my job? Simple. It’s the same principles, just different subject matter. I’ve seen 16 year olds become famous for posting 6-second videos on Vine. How many middle-aged professionals can claim that? For that matter, how many middle-aged professionals know what Vine is, and can use it effectively for their products? Get the kids involved! Learn from them, and apply it to your work: Hashtags are short and unique to the subject matter. Photos are interesting and showcase your product. Videos are well produced and captivating. Network by following those similar to you and plastering yourself all over the internet – make yourself recognizable. And for goodness sakes, use your Tumblr for attracting quirky users like its intended to.

I have more to say about conferences and social media, but I’ll save that for another post. For now, check out a quick video clip from the HESM conference here, and a list of the speakers from the conference here. (Accessed both through social media platforms – yay!)

Touch The Earth,

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

Editor’s Note: The morning after writing this post, I saw a bit on CBS This Morning about “digital tips” to make using electronics easier. The guest was David Pogue, who has published a book on the same topic. I’m sure the book is useful to some, but while watching the clip with my 60-year old parents, I could easily explain all the tips – I do all of them anyways. Isn’t pressing the space bar on your laptop to scroll down second nature to everyone? I had even taught my dad how to take a picture with the buttons on the side of an iPhone just last week. This is what I mean about youth teaching others about technology. We already do it, and we don’t have to read a book about it.

Leave A Reply

