TSA Cooks – Mac & Cheese

Things got amped up unexpectedly this week, and I ended up making family dinner – high profile, eek! The decided dish was oven-baked mac & cheese, as per my mom’s request. It turned out pretty good, if I do say so myself! I had to live up to my dad’s cooking (he’s the one who usually does dinner) and it was a little bit intimidating, but I got his seal of approval in the end! And so, the process:

The recipe is from a promotional cookbook we picked up from Denninger’s. All the ingredients needed are below:

IMG_3975.JPG

First step – grating the cheese. The essence of mac & cheese, of course! I used emmentaler and gruyère. Like swiss cheese, but a tad bit more flavor.

IMG_3978.JPG

One of the things I liked about this recipe was that it had ham in it. Next time, I think I’ll add sweet onion too, and maybe some cauliflower (yum!)

IMG_3979.JPG

Of course, boiling the “mac”. One of the things I have to say I’m very good at is cooking pasta. Last year, I think I had pasta 5 nights a week – the other two nights were rice, so same principle. Boiling away!

IMG_3976.JPG

Now, here’s the tricky part. Heating up milk always make me anxious – one whiff of burning milk and you’ll never want to heat it up again. I heated it until it was steaming, as per the recipe, then mixed it in with a butter/flour/mustard mix (below).

IMG_3982.JPG

IMG_3983.JPG

Mixing it all together! My mother swears by her Corningware cook set, and graciously let me use it for the night – under her watchful eye! She says I’m like a bull in a china shop, and didn’t take her eye off me whenever the dish was off the counter.

IMG_3981.JPG

After everything was mixed up, into the oven it went! Our oven is as old as me, and doesn’t heat evenly anymore, so baking things in it requires a little bit more attention than usual. Broiling things on the top rack can sometimes take a quarter of the time expected – or an extra half an hour! I think it turned out just fine, though.

IMG_3987.JPG

 

I really liked baking this big dish. It kind of made me feel like I was in a country home, making Sunday lunch for everyone when they came in from playing outside. My family is small, with only three people at the dinner table each night (sometimes four, if my brother is home). Living at home this year definitely makes me appreciate a home-cooked meal, and the work that goes into it. One dish took me almost two hours, from start to finish. But man, if this isn’t comfort food, I don’t know what is.

Touch The Earth,

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

 

2 thoughts on “TSA Cooks – Mac & Cheese

  1. Sound like a yummy and simple recipe! If you like sharp cheeses you should try mac and cheese with Greek yogurt! The yogurt and grated cheese makes the cheese appear to be very sharp even if it’s only plan cheddar! I have it pinned on my Pinterest under “yummy food I’ve tried” if you want to try it! (Search or Ali Carpenter)

Leave A Reply

