TSA Cooks – Beer Bread

Welcome to the first instalment of The Suburban Aggie (TSA) Cooks! In an effort to be more connected to my food, I’ve decided to start documenting my cooking and baking experiences each Saturday. (It’s also an excuse to make and eat yummy food, which I would never pass up!)

This week, I baked beer bread for our class potluck. It was a prepared mix that I found in a little gift store. All you had to do was add a can of beer – anything that involves adding a can of beer is fine by me! As I mentioned in my post on Wednesday, even though I didn’t start from scratch I was still making my own bread. Instantly, I was more connected to my food than I would have been had I picked it up at the grocery store.

Here’s the package, with a can of beer beside it – the only two things needed. Now that’s my kind of baking!

IMG_3937.JPG

Adding the beer…

IMG_3939.JPG

And mix it all up! Into the loaf pans it goes!

IMG_3940.JPG

Partway through the baking. It takes less than an hour to bake (as it says on the package) though since it was split into two pans, it took even less time – around 45 minutes.

IMG_3942.JPG

The finished product! It didn’t rise as much as I thought it would, though looking at the package afterward, I noticed there was no yeast in the mix. But still, great bread! And it passed the taste test – a little bit sweeter than expected, but very good.

IMG_3943.JPG

My house smelled like a bakery for an hour afterwards, and no one was complaining. I hope to bake my own bread from scratch sometime in the future, but this will do for now. For my first TSA Cooks adventure, it was darn successful – and delicious! Connecting to my food makes me feel great, and I can’t wait for more.

Touch The Earth,

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

Leave A Reply

