I Am Not A Farmer (Or, How Economics Made Me Happier)

I know what you’re thinking: can economics really make someone happier? If you’ve taken an economics course in university without the intention of being an economist, you may be doubtful. But it’s true, it does make me happier, though not for the pure joy of studying economics (ah, there’s the catch!) Let me start at the beginning, and you’ll understand why.

I am not a farmer, and being an Aggie doesn’t make me one. It took me a little while to realize that. Studying agriculture does not make me a farmer; the same way studying kinesiology doesn’t make someone a gym rat. I find myself still explaining this to people. It’s okay, I don’t mind. Like I said, it took me some time to wrap my head around this (x). I want to be a farmer, I really do. I’ve been dreaming about it ever since I wanted to be an Aggie. But, again, being an Aggie doesn’t make me a farmer.

It’s okay, though, that I’m not a farmer yet. Economics made me realize why, for a few different reasons. I took an econ class in Ridgetown (FARE*1040: Environmental Economics, Law & Policy) that is still my best class to date. I went into it with very low expectations. Me? Liking an economics course? Please! But it happened. I got really into the course content and came out on top. In that course, I learned about the principles of specific knowledge. Every person has a different skill set and has a different scope of knowledge. Just like a born-and-bred farmer knows about life on a farm, I know about environmental issues, and the connections between the city and agriculture (more on that later).

Even though I’ve never spent time on the farm, I know that I’m still an Aggie. I am not a farmer, but I’m on my way to becoming one.

(Lauren, if you’re reading this, thanks for being such a big fan!)

Keep Calm and Farm On,

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

Leave A Reply

