Happy Thanksgiving!

Today is Thanksgiving Monday, and we couldn’t have asked for better weather. I took my dog for a hike today on the Bruce Trail and I came across a scene that made me really happy. I passed two families that were hiking together with boys that were around 7-10 years old. When I passed them, the boys and one of the dads were up in a crabapple tree picking fruit. It was so nice to see a family having fun together outside. Such a simple thing, but it made me so happy.

On another note, thank a farmer if you ate today! On Thanksgiving of all days, it should be a time to celebrate and be thankful for everything that we have – including all the delicious food that comes from the fall harvest. Even after 6 weeks of school, I still feel as disconnected as ever from where my food comes from. The only difference is that now I have an idea that I don’t know anything (my known unknown!). My only hope is that by this time next year, I’ll have a little bit more knowledge about where my food comes from. But for now, I’ll just thank a farmer.

Keep Calm and Farm On,

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

Leave A Reply

