Carere Farm

I met upwith a Ridgetown classmate today for dinner! Actually, more like I dropped in to her house for dinner. She lives on a small mixed farm in Guelph, where her brother (entering first year in Ag Business – we’re gonna be classmates!) and her dad tend to all sorts of things: chickens and their eggs, turkeys, corn, beans, potatoes, garlic, berries, hay, pigs, and I’m sure lots more that I don’t even know about.

Dinner was delicious, to say the least. And I don’t think just because I’ve been eating camp food for the last 8 weeks. Everything we had was from the farm – corn on the cob, roasted potatoes, steamed pole beans and spicy pork sausage. Each crop had a great story behind it, but I feel that those sorts of things are a bit too personal to blog about. You really have to be sitting around the table to hear it.

Before dinner, the garlic was being put into a barn for storage. The family trades every Saturday at the Guelph Farmer’s Market, and the garlic is supposedly a fan favourite. We made a fireman’s chain to move the baskets full of garlic heads into the barn. It wasn’t much, but it felt like my first real farming experience. They even let me keep two heads for my efforts! Granted, they were run over a little bit by the tractor, but still – the fruit (or vegetable?) of my labour.

Carere Garlic

I also got a mini-tour of their egg-checking station. I was told that the farm is a certified egg checker. They wash and dry the eggs, then run them over a light to check for blood or spots on the inside. Then they go through a simple machine that sorts them according to size. There seemed to be hundreds of eggs in that tiny little room, and they were all from that very farm. It was a little stinky inside, but still very cool.

My trip to the farm was short – about as long as it takes to scarf down dinner – but it was great. Now that I’m going into agriculture, anything that has to do with farming gets me really excited. I can’t wait to start in a few weeks!

Keep Calm and Farm On,

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

Leave A Reply

