Summer Vacation

Summer Vacation

I’m currently working at a summer camp in the Haliburton Highlands. For any person that’s worked at a summer camp, or been to a cottage for that matter, you’ll know that there’s limited internet access. I manage to find my way to the interwebs about once a week. Every time that I do, I automatically open up Facebook and my GryphMail and see a million posts about the upcoming school year.

I have an incredible case of FOMO (Fear of Missing Out), so seeing these posts drives me nuts! While I’m having the time of my life at my second home up here, I wish I was more connected with the online summer community that my future classmates are building without me.

Summer already seems to be coming to a close, which means I’ll be in Guelph soon enough. Maybe if I avoid the internet altogether until then my FOMO will disappear (or, you know, increase exponentially).

Keep Calm and Farm On,

Emma — The Suburban Aggie

One thought on “Summer Vacation

  1. Hey, fellow Gryphon here! I know what you mean about the FOMO… I felt the same way going into first year. But as soon as you get to Guelph you’ll get absorbed into our big warm fuzzy community.

Leave A Reply

